Travelling…for fun?

I have the travel bug big time. It is something that is just within me. Ever since I was a kid (still am a kid really – a big kid!) Having experiences always meant more to me than settling down with a house, children and a mortgage. To me, that is only one possibility. It is a possibility still but it doesn’t feel right for me at the moment.

We all have the freedom to make whatever choice that feels right for us. Luckily, we all have the freedom to choose – but what if you don’t know what feels right sometimes? Life doesn’t come with a manual and directions to keep us on track. Perhaps that’s a good thing.

Perhaps it will never feel right for me. I have a feeling if I really wanted to settle down properly, I would have done it by now. I would love to have a bit of both if I’m honest but not sure I would be able to juggle the commitments and the finances somehow. Everything is so damn expensive nowadays and prices just seem to keep going up, not down. I would like to have children one day maybe….

I also love flying but I have to admit I’m not as keen on it as I used to be. I now feel more nervous than ever when I have booked a flight somewhere. What with the possibility of plane crashes, terrorism attacks, etc. I wonder how any of us get on a plane at all anymore. I suppose if you have to do it, then you have to do it.

I always forget that I have to do the walk of dread through airport security – taking off shoes, boots, jewellery, belts….anything else? I just don’t want to go through the hassle of that anymore.

And then there are the possibilities of flight delays…always a pleasure.

Also, hearing reports in the news about pilots falling asleep in command after very tight turnarounds and working 12 hour shifts without adequate breaks to rest doesn’t instill me with much confidence anymore. I don’t want to get on a plane and wonder if the pilot is feeling up to it or battling severe exhaustion. I would hope the former.

Travelling has become stressful enough when you think about the cost of flights, accomodation and perhaps picking up whatever rampant flu-bug there is in the recycled air on the plane. Major stress stuff. Oh yes, and lets not forget the wonderful possibility of having your chair kicked by a toddler for 5-6 hours as well. That happened to me when I was experiencing jet lag in full blast on my way to Salt Lake City a few years ago so I ended up leaning forward and resting my head on the seat directly in front of me.

The kid’s mother was preoccupied and deep in conversation and couldn’t really be bothered to do anything about it…even when I said politely…’please can you adjust the seat beside you, thank you very much…(and your child…)’. I love kids, don’t get me wrong. When I travel, I am a realist. I do expect to hear babies crying around me, etc. But-having my seat kicked relentlessly was a big no no. Boy I was grumpy that day…that’s what tiredness can do to you…..

Fun times…at least when I got off the plane I had a good two weeks catching up with my friend in good weather..otherwise I would have felt pretty hard done by…

With flying now, I feel there is too much anticipatory and emotional pressure involved for me. Too many things that can go wrong. Travelling isn’t completely stress free as there will always be the elements to deal with and there will be tiredness, fatigue etc. but there should be an enjoyable and carefree aspect to it. I don’t feel that anymore.

I still love travelling and the hunger to explore will always be with me…I just need to find another way to do it…how are the trains these days?;)

© Christina McDonald 2014.

I would love to hear your thoughts....

