Being Content

I don’t know about you, but sometimes when I feel content and peaceful, I feel like I want something else. The feelings of desire for some kind of excitement kick in and annoyingly so. There always seems to be something just around the corner to make me feel restless. With me, I often feel as though I could do more with my life and that I am not making the most of my potential. I think I am but I always have that nagging doubt – could I be more and could I do more?

I think the answer to that question is – yes. We can always do and achieve more but we don’t need to use that as an excuse for not being happy with ourselves and for what we actually have achieved in life. Contentment is something we feel when we happy with who we are and that doesn’t always amount to having to do more and more things to come to that realisation.

Everything we do in life is an experience. Having experiences (such as travelling) and not actually discovering something about yourself in the progress defeats the purpose. We need to learn to travel within and that is something we don’t often do. If life is a journey, then we are all travelling everyday. Writing our own story, discovering our own path.

The greatest voyage in life is walking the path towards understanding your own heart. When you reach that destination, everything in life has a new meaning and purpose – every step and breath you take has taken you to this point and beyond the discovery of your own heart, there is just peace, contentment and happiness. You no longer need to search for meaning.

To me, this is contentment. Living life from your heart and knowing that no matter what you do in life, your successes, your ‘failures’, your good days and bad days, this feeling will always remain the same.

Keep doing things but don’t forget to ‘be’. That is where true happiness dwells and where life becomes simple.

Christina McDonald 2014.

I would love to hear your thoughts....

